Peer Support and CCBHCs: What Where How?

Oregon map of Certified Behavioral Health Clinics

CCBHCs are Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics where people can go to receive peer support and other services.

Oregon was one of 8 states chosen for this federal demonstration project after a year of hard work planning and screening sites in 2016.

As of April 2017, these sites are supposed to be operational with funding up to 24 months (2 years).

Peer support is a covered benefit and CCBHCs are supposed to be accessible to all Oregonians regardless of location of residence.

According to The National Council website (

CCBHCs must offer the following services either directly or through a formal contract with a Designated Collaborating Organization (DCO).  These services must be offered and will be paid for even if they are not included in a state’s Medicaid plan:

  1. Crisis mental health services including 24-hour mobile crisis teams, emergency crisis intervention and crisis stabilization*
  2. Screening, assessment and diagnosis including risk assessment*
  3. Patient-Centered treatment planning or similar processes, including risk assessment and crisis planning*
  4. Outpatient mental health and substance use services*
  5. Outpatient clinic primary care screening and monitoring of key health indicators and health risk**
  6. Targeted case management**
  7. Psychiatric rehabilitation services**
  8. Peer support and counselor services and family supports**
  9. Intensive, community-based mental health care for members of the armed forces and veterans, particularly those members and veterans located in rural areas, provided the care is consistent with minimum clinical mental health guidelines promulgated by the Veterans Health Administration, including clinical guidelines contained in the Uniform Mental Health Services Handbook of such Administration**

*CCBHC must directly provide

**May be proved by CCBHC and/or DCO

See The National Council’s Article – CCBHCs: Are You Ready to Grow Your Peer Services? which outlines staff training requirements and much more!

So far, there are 13 certified / qualified CCBHC Provider Organizations in Oregon some of which have multiple service sites, collectively adding up to 21 sites.

Oregon CCBHC Provider Organizations
1. Cascadia Behavioral Health (3 sites)
2. Columbia Community Mental Health
3. Community Counseling Solutions
4. Deschutes County Health Services (4 sites)
5. Klamath Basin Behavioral Health
6. LifeWorks NW (4 sites)
7. Mid Columbia Center for Living – Hood River
8. Mid Columbia Center for Living – The Dalles
9. Options for Southern Oregon
10. PeaceHealth
11. Symmetry Care, Inc.
12. Wallowa Valley Center for Wellness
13. Yamhill County Health & Human Services

It is estimated to bring 461 additional full-time equivalent positions on board for the two-year window according to one report by OHA (State of Oregon, Oregon Health Authority).  Learn more by visiting OHAs CCBHC web page at: